Acrylic Pours

This post has 1 Reply | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 20
Brohdy wrote
on 26 Mar 2014 8:26 PM

I am relatively new to acrylics and am currently 'experimenting' with acrylic pours to produce abstract pieces.  On YouTube I watched a video by a German artist, Brigitte Koenig where she had a substrate submerged in a liquid (water?) and poured the acrylic directly into the water above the 'canvas'.  When she removed the substrate from the liquid the acrylic adhered to the substrate and through tilting of the canvas she produced some wonderful effects.

I sent her an e-mail requesting a bit of information so that I could try the same technique.  I wondered what her 'canvas' was and how it may have been pre-treated before subversion in the liquid.  I also requested info on the nature of the liquid and also if her paints had been mixed with anything before being poured.

Unfortunately the artist didn't respond to my e-mail and so I'm hoping that someone might know the answers to my questions.  If anyone has experience with this type of pour I would be most interested in getting some details.

Here is the link to her video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ryJzgeWrRu8

Brohdy

Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 25
on 7 Apr 2014 1:37 AM

She seemed to respond to inquiries on YouTube, although vaguely. After seeing a few of her videos a few things clicked for me as to why she did things, and it became a little funny to me in considering the wonderings of most people new to the art.