New to Artist Daily

This post has 8 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 9
Points 140
LThrasher wrote
on 11 Feb 2013 12:21 AM

I am a mostly self  taught artist and I specialize in graphite portraiture.  I have been studying independently for about 10 years now.

I'll just post a few pieces.  Comments and critique are always welcome.

Photo: This is finished.  Lost some of the likeness, but if at first you don't succeed....try try again and I will.

This is 2.5 x 3.5 miniture on ATC card.  I usually work 11 x 14

Photo: Miniature 2.5 x 3.5 in graphite Jamie at about 15 months

This another that I just finished same size.

Photo: You know you did it right when they cry....

This is 5 x 7 portrait of a friends pet

Photo: Finished, Framed and in the show.  Changed the title..."Modesty" she will be on display at EGCC from May 5th- May 19th in the SAA Spring Exhibit.  Wish me luck!!!

16 x 20 Charcoal and White pastel

Sorry about the crooked photo  16 x 20 graphite drawing of clay pipes

Photo: "The Bride" private collection of Theresa Smith

From a couple of years ago "The Bride" 16 x 20

• | Post Points: 50
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 66
Points 925
ivo55 wrote
on 16 Feb 2013 6:52 AM

Well you have an extraordinary talent and extremely good eye sides. 

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 9
Points 140
LThrasher wrote
on 18 Feb 2013 3:15 PM

Thank you, but still so much to learn and practice before I getto where I want to be.  Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Laura

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 7,429
Points 51,045
Charlie Gunn wrote
on 19 Feb 2013 9:14 AM

THese are very good.  You should post your work on the "Members Art" gallery.  I love "The Bride".

Charlie Gunn

C&C welcomed

http://picasaweb.google.com/cagunn0/MYARTWORK

• | Post Points: 5
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 66
Points 925
ivo55 wrote
on 19 Feb 2013 3:02 PM

If you can do the the practice with thinking (using your brain) in everything you do you can get better and quicker to where you wont to be.