Could I sell my paintings?

This post has 16 Replies | 5 Followers rated by 3 users
Not Ranked
Posts 11
Points 175
on 12 Jul 2012 3:13 AM

Back in February of 2011 I started painting stuff. I've been doing artsy stuff my whole life, but I hadn't really done much painting before that. The only art classes I've taken were in high school, and they mostly focused on drawing and sculpting. Personally, I think the paintings I've done look like something you'd do in elementary school. But other people who see them seem to like them okay, so I thought I should ask some questions here.

My paintings: http://lachlanmcdavid.com/Serious%20Art.html
You should probably read the paragraphs on each painting's page if you want an accurate view; a lot of people have said they really change their interpretation of the pictures. 

- Would anyone buy these paintings? If so, where could I sell them, and how should I price them?

- I feel like---and other people have strongly suggested that---I shouldn't be selling any originals without first getting them photographed at sufficient quality to enable print reproductions. There is a place that does this locally, but they charge $85 to do a 16x20 painting. If I sold my paintings for about $100, which seems to be the going rate for a 16x20 painting on Etsy, then when you account for shipping and supplies and such I'd probably be losing money on each painting. Am I missing something here, or is it just not practical to get my paitings photographed before selling them?

- Should I sell the originals, or prints, or both?

- If I sell prints, how should I price them? Just producing a 16x20 giclée print seems to cost about $40-50, not counting things like shipping costs, and that in itself seems to high to me---I kind of doubt I could sell prints for that price. Maybe if I made them smaller than the actual paintings?

• | Post Points: 80
Top 200 Contributor
Posts 220
Points 3,965
Jay Babina wrote
on 13 Jul 2012 7:39 AM