"Tulip"- poster paints and color pencils on paper

This post has 6 Replies | 3 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 62
Points 1,040
sophie grace wrote
on 27 Jun 2012 6:56 AM

hello this is a poster paint and color pencil work on paper .

I liked the lips in it and named as "Tulip" as it complements the facial structure as well as the term lips . I am a self taught painter and I found this space very useful .please leave your comments and feel free to critique as it improves me .

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
mpracht wrote
on 27 Jun 2012 11:04 AM

The gentle coloring and pencil etchings really add to the feel of this.

My only suggestion would be perhaps a greater range of values to keep the figure from looking too flat, but that could just be the artist's choice of style.

Nice work.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 62
Points 1,040
sophie grace wrote
on 28 Jun 2012 2:27 AM

Big Smile thank you for responding I have been working out on portraits they are my favorite subject .This time I will Incorporate the missing aspects as you said .

Not Ranked
Posts 5
Points 70
on 23 Jul 2012 9:49 PM

The eye brow a very intense she is a young face,I think softening them would add to this, I also agree with more tonal values.

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 62
Points 1,040
sophie grace wrote
on 14 Oct 2012 10:10 AM

yes maria I agree with you .thanks for the suggestions .

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 592
Points 5,150
on 14 Oct 2012 11:56 AM

Sophie—

I've viewed all of the recent postings of your work.  It is very good and you have a lot of talent. I am sure you are aware that an artist's development can be a slow process. However, there are times when giant steps can be taken and I think that you are at a point where you can make some vast improvements.