Could I sell these paintings?

This post has 0 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 11
Points 190
on 19 May 2012 12:29 AM

I've tried to post this question twice in the Beginners forum and once in the Acrylic one, and every time it tells me that my post needs to be approved by a moderator before it can appear, but I never hear anything after that. So, with deepest apologies, I'm going to violate forum etiquette and all that is holy by posting this in the Community Help forum. It doesn't belong here, but this seems to be the only forum I can post in without pre-approval.

Back in February of 2011 I started painting stuff. I've been doing artsy stuff my whole life, but I hadn't really done much painting before that. The only art classes I've taken were in high school, and they mostly focused on drawing and sculpting. Personally, I think the paintings I've done look like something you'd do in elementary school. But other people who see them seem to like them okay, so I thought I should ask some questions here.

• Would anyone buy these paintings? If so, where could I sell them, and how should I price them?

• I feel like---and other people have strongly suggested that---I shouldn't be selling any originals without first getting them photographed at sufficient quality to enable print reproductions. There is a place that does this locally, but they charge $85 to do a 16x20 painting. If I sold my paintings for about $100, which seems to be the going rate for a 16x20 painting on Etsy, then when you account for shipping and supplies and such I'd probably be losing money on each painting. Am I missing something here, or is it just not practical to get my paitings photographed before selling them?

• Should I sell the originals, or prints, or both?