amateur self portrait please share some tips/critics

This post has 8 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 105
sobrion1 wrote
on 18 Feb 2012 11:36 PM

Hi :)

my name is Samantha and i am a self taught high school student interested in getting better at my art, so the picture attached here is of a school assignment that i obviously spent more time n then the teacher intended (not an art class assignment) but it was my first time really playing with oil pastels and i sorta lost control ha-ha

though i really enjoyed myself i am well aware that i have room for improvement, so please any tips or comments/critic is highly appreciated

PS: the quote that is in grey-thus blending into the background says "a man who asks is a fool for 5 minutes, a man who doesn't ask is a fool forever" -Chinese proverb

kinda fitting for this post now that i think of it lol

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 25
broombug wrote
on 9 Mar 2012 11:54 PM

Wonderful first try. As a beginner I would recommend taking classes to further develop your gift. Then you could learn how to control proportion, edges, values and color theory. Keep it up.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 584
Points 5,050
on 10 Mar 2012 9:35 AM

Samantha—

You have what appears to be all the basic talent you need. You say you really enjoy doing artwork and you want to improve. In that case, take the first step and start learning every thing you can about drawing. There are a lot of good books on this. Get a couple and use them as work books. Spend time learning the fundamentals. As Michelangelo wrote, ""Drawing constitutes the fountainhead and substance of painting, sculpture and architecture...".  It is the basic discipline from which other skills of the visual arts flow.