Varnish HELP!

This post has 10 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 105
jenna821 wrote
on 28 Aug 2011 11:34 AM

Hello,

I am new to acrylic painting, and I am enjoying it thoroughly! I just started using an acrylic varnish spray to finish my paintings. The first painting I sealed was made up of sky blues, reds, greens, purples, and other bright colors. I was so happy with how the varnish made the painting look. Everything just got brighter and popped! 

However, I just sprayed my 2nd painting last night, and feel like crying. I don't know what happened, but I just don't like how it affected the final look. The painting has a dark gray background, black trees, and white brushed on the trees for a highlighting effect. I looked at the painting this morning, and it seems as though the white on the trees has dulled and the flaws that could not be seen with my eyes before... is now noticeable. My husband can't see what I see, and my daughter agrees that the white on the trees seems less bright. I loved the bright white on the trees, and now I am feeling really bummed.

I don't know if it's all in my head, but it has me feeling pretty down. Any help or advice anyone may have would be appreciated. I want to still love my painting. I'm also assuming i can't paint over the varnish. I think if I attempted that... it may ruin it more.

FYI - I used Grumbacher Oil and Acrylic Varnish in Matte.

Thanks,

Jenna

• | Post Points: 50
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 1,433
Points 20,850
J.V.Schaffer wrote
on 28 Aug 2011 3:59 PM

I have never used a spray varnish so I'm   not qualified to say much but I have painted over a matte finish and revarnished over that also would it hurt to put a small spot of gloss to see ?  It might bring out the colors you can always put matte over gloss I would make very sure before I put it over the complete painting  I hope this is of some use to you      James

Jim C&C welcomed

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 105
jenna821 wrote