some inspiration

This post has 2 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 14
Points 130
Addie2 wrote
on 25 Aug 2011 12:29 PM

Hi to everyone...I am new.   This is the first art  forum that I have joined, and actually participated in.  I guess I need your help.  For about 1 year now, my mind feels cluttered and my well of imagination  has run dry.  I really really can not come up with anything to paint...its horrifying. 

Brief history:  I am self taught.  Have taken 3 courses. I have dabbled in pastel, pen and ink, pencil, acrylic...have to try oil, sculpture, and everything else!...but am struggling with something atm.    I am now working on a childrens's book writing it and illustrating, in acrylic.  Am so close to finishing but have periods where I just can not get it together.  Sometimes it just flows so easily, and sometimes I struggle.  Sometimes it feels right and then other times I think..."what was I thinking?".  I am an emotional artist...does that make sense to others?  I have to feel something when I am painting it.  And I do my best work or I am happiest with the resulting piece, when the time I am creating this piece, is in a transcendental state.  Total peace and out of this world.  That when I am finished I wonder how it all happened or who did this?  Do not know what I do or how I do it, to get to that place, ....If i knew , it alone would suffice:)   And I would be painting non stop Indifferent yay!

Anyway, I am looking for ideas to get it together, and give my imagination a kick.  How does everyone else here get inspired?  Is this normal?  To have these long periods where you just can't seem to pick up a brush?

P.S.  Just realized that there are other threads asking for inspiration.  Will take a look at those, would've deleted this one...but don't know how.

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 24
Points 250
naefrond1982 wrote
on 27 Feb 2012 2:56 PM

Addie2: