Egg Tempera thread

This post has 20 Replies | 3 Followers
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 606
Points 12,080
on 28 Jun 2011 2:48 AM

There are a few egg tempera works scattered throughout the site, but I thought it might be good to have a thread particularly for egg tempera. Let's have your methods and other observations. This is a 10 x 8 piece entitled Buttermilk on a true gesso panel.

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 606
Points 12,080
on 27 Jul 2011 2:44 PM

No egg tempera painters out there?

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 7
Points 140
jbrisbin wrote
on 16 Jan 2012 12:36 PM

Just signed up for the forums today, so just came across this thread.

I'm very interested in Egg Tempera as well. I'm a web developer by trade but I've been interested in painting for a long time and only recently decided to start pursuing some self-guided education on painting. One of my favorite artists is Thomas Hart Benton so I'd like to eventually start trying egg tempera as it's a centuries-old technique that he (and many other great mural painters of the early 20th century) used to great effect.

I'm starting with the basics (draftsmanship and watercolor) to try and get a handle on how to represent things on a panel. I feel that beginners fear of seeing my mistakes staring me in the face, though, and have been basically too afraid to attempt a tempera painting yet. I've played with simple watercolors (using tube-style paints) and simple subjects. I'm also a photographer, so I thought I might try and take some of my more artistically-styled photographs and base a tempera painting on them. I haven't mustered the courage to actually attempt that yet, though. :)