My introduction as a newcomer

This post has 6 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 75
Shelfcloud wrote
on 24 Apr 2011 5:48 PM

Hi,

(don't know if it is the right place to post, but there are very many sub-forums here)

I’m Mike, I’m 34 years old and from Holland. I’m a graphite pencil artist and I drew active since I was 30 years old. Not at the moment, but that has other causes than feeling uninspired or blocked or something. I’ve been a lurker around here to see the forums mood and it took a lot of effort to make the decision to join. Not because I’m afraid my works aren’t good, or I’m shy. But I do not have good experience with forums. It always appeared it is about the best drawing, to belong to groupies or to find yourselves interesting. I gave a lot of constructive critique when asked, but in the end all they want was to hear how good they were. I pulled out my neck for a lot of people, but rarely got any feedback or a polite “thanks”. Ignoring, false compliments and a mood where the degree realism and celebs only count as art, got me taken down my art and distant me from the fun of sharing for quite some time. I see this forum has a calm and good mood and that is why I wanted to join: to do art, to share art and enjoy art.