How do I achieve this effect with acrylics?

This post has 9 Replies | 8 Followers rated by 1 users
Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 265
pairofjacks wrote
on 11 Jan 2011 4:35 PM

I have been painting off and on for nearly 30 years.  I typically paint things that I envision or paint

things for family and friends.  Recently I've seen an effect using (this is what the artist told me) acrylics.

The photos below are examples of the effect painted on canvas.  If anyone has any knowledge on how

to achieve this look, could you please let me know and if you don't mind sharing, please provide details

of the method and products used.  I've tried replicating this effect several times and have wasted a lot

of materials and canvas trying to figure this out.

Thank You

David

• | Post Points: 110
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 378
Points 5,815
on 18 Jan 2011 1:25 PM

I too find this look very interesting.  My first thought was that it was done with gel mixed with paint and having a palate of colours mixed up so that one could apply and intermingle the colours,  perhaps using a palette knife to apply.  A couple of books you may want to look at are:  

ARTEFFECTS by Jean Drysdale Green, ISBN 0-8230-2529-2 published in 1993 by Watson-Guptill Publications - www.crownpublishing.com and www.watsonguptil.com.  On page 100 one method shown is to apply solvent-based ink and let it merge with already laid-down acrylics.  Another (101) applies mineral spirits to a wash of acrylic paints.  It also shows effects with modelling past (108) to mention a few.  This book also deals with oils, watercolour, gouache, etc.