raw sienna or raw umber, which would you choose?

This post has 4 Replies | 5 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 7
Points 140
mariettetb wrote
on 10 Jul 2010 4:44 PM

Dear all, I bring my humble question:

What is the difference between these two paints?  I can see that raw umber is 'browner' than raw sienna, raw sienna a touch warmer, but if one had a limited palette or limited space, which would you choose and why?  (Ochre only adds to the confusion....)

P.S., I primarily use watercolors, so oil paints/acrylics may have different considerations.

Thank You!

• | Post Points: 35
Top 200 Contributor
Posts 246
Points 5,575
Trusted Users
on 10 Jul 2010 5:24 PM

The major difference is that Raw Sienna is transparent while Raw Umber is opaque.  So a glazing effect can be achieved with raw sienna which is not so easy with raw umber.

I alo find raw sienna to be significantly warmer. 

I am an oil painter so please take that into consideration, however as far as I know the transparency, or lack of, is the same for these colors both mediums.

I hope this helps.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 585
Points 7,115
KatPaints wrote
on 10 Jul 2010 8:20 PM

Hmm, It depends on what  other colors are in your limited palette. It also depends on what your painting. Neither are my favorite and I usually have neither.

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 7
Points 140
mariettetb wrote
on 12 Jul 2010 10:36 AM

Thank you -  That's exactly the type of answer I was looking for!!  Very helpful  On another note, my books show raw umber to be significantly darker than I find it in real life, so I got confused.

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 372
Points 5,740
on 12 Jul 2010 12:15 PM

Hello mariettetb