Beginner acrylic Skull painting.. would appreciate critiques/advice

This post has 8 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 24
Points 640
Ali22656 wrote
on 13 Aug 2014 5:10 PM

Hello,

I am new to acrylic, and painting in general. I have been doing a study on skulls, mostly drawing and decided to try this and am a little stuck and it's seeming lackluster. I have a hard time getting constructive information when it comes to the things I try to do, as most of what I get is "i think it looks good" and not much suggestion on how to better something.. and thus I am feeling stuck and was hoping some of you who know a thing or two would take a moment to give some feedback. it is unfinished yet, but there's something about it that has me at a stand still and I dont know what it is.

I appreciate your time :)

Not Ranked
Posts 13
Points 200
mural wrote
on 21 Sep 2014 10:18 AM

Looks great!  Brilliant details!

I used to draw a lot of  skulls.

I think the inside of the nose should be as dark as the background . To get more volume and deepness, the  eyes should be darker too,  Is that acrylic on paper or canvas and what size?

Do you have  more works like this one?

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 14
Points 100
studyart9 wrote
on 6 Oct 2014 4:28 AM

As you are a beginner, it is looking great. If you go for fine arts course or any other art form you have to know fundamental things about acrylic painting. In acrylic painting, always use thin paints , I think in the left side of skull eye you has used heavy and hard paint. I also agree with Mural and rest is looking great.

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 15
on 9 Oct 2014 11:59 AM

it looks like a photograph which shows you possess great skill.  As someone else commented the eyes and nose need to be darker to gain more perspective of background and foreground within the face.

Not Ranked
Posts 24
Points 640
Ali22656 wrote
on 9 Oct 2014 12:56 PM