Begining question about toning down a color

This post has 2 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 35
Mike__2000 wrote
on 10 Aug 2014 1:27 PM

Hello,

I am a beginner and working on my third painting ever, so I am very new to this.   I have a painting in which I am trying to paint from a photo of a house.  My problem is, that I was trying to add a redish-brown wash to the bricks of the house to deepen the color, but I also used it on a section that was not brick but a faux stone face.  Now the painting appears to orange in that section; it was too bright so I wanted to tone it down, make it less of the focus.

Anyway, the section I am concerned with is behind the black fencing, under the white bay window.  Is there a way to add a wash, perhaps a complementary color to the brownish-orange that will dampen the orange?  If feels like the hue is off.  It was okay wet, but not when dry.

Any help or advise is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike

• | Post Points: 35
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 379
Points 5,835
on 10 Aug 2014 3:17 PM