Old and new ways to sell art

This post has 5 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
Francesco_ wrote
on 23 Jul 2014 2:13 PM

Hi everybody, I'm an MSc student and I'm currently writing my dissertation about the role of the internet in the art industry. I want to investigate the distribution channels available for artists nowadays and what artists actually need.  

What kind of service might interest you the most?

A) An online gallery where is possible to show and to sell your artworks. This hypothetical gallery hosts till 20 artists with styles similar to yours, providing as well a dedicated biography of your creations. The gallery asks a commission of 15% for each piece of art sold.

B) A company which manages all the sales of your paintings through big, well-established marketplaces such as Etsy, Ebay, Fine Art America etc. The hypothetical company would create your shop within the marketplace, updating the inventory and manage the relationships with buyers. The company asks a fee of 5% for each piece of art sold (that obviously should be added to the commission applied by the marketplace).

C) A company which creates a tailored website for you (price $2.000) and provides content management services (e.g. uploading new pieces of art) for $100 per year.

Please give a grade at each service from 1 (not interested) to 10 (very interested):

For example:

A) 5

B) 6

C) 7

If you think at other online-based services which might help artists in selling their works, please feel free to share your thoughts.         

Thanks...

Francesco

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 5
Kevin__ wrote
on 23 Jul 2014 5:27 PM
I would say:

A) 8
B) 6
C) 8

The most important thing for me is to find a good way to make my paintings highly visible to buyers through a dedicated platform, like a personal website...

Kevin
  • | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 584
Points 5,065
on 23 Jul 2014 8:27 PM

Francesco—

I think you have this backwards.