Help using acrylics in a desert climate

This post has 3 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 45
on 20 Jun 2014 9:48 PM

I am new to painting in general and wanted to use acrylics for the ease of clean-up and the versatility.  I am having trouble with blending techniques and wet on wet since our humidity here in Arizona is only 22 percent. I use a stay-wet palette so my paint isn't drying out before I use it but even the slo-dry gel I bought get tacky the minute I spread it on the canvas so it doesn't help. I have tried mixing it in the paint also but to cover a large area like a sky it still dries too fast to blend the edges very well. Any desert dwellers with ideas? I may have to buy a humidifier just for my workroom.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 619
Points 5,395
on 21 Jun 2014 1:04 PM

Madam Butterfly—

I'm another desert dweller and resident of Arizona, so I may be of some help. Even though I paint in watercolor, I have used acrylics for most of my commercial career both in Ohio and Arizona.

I would like to know the brand and the type of acrylics you are using. It sounds like you are using standard acrylic paint, the original type of acrylics. For sake of clarity, I'll call it "stantard acrylics." (Golden paints calls it "heavy body" acrylics, as a paint type.)

If you are using "standard acrylics", much of what you have described is just the way they work—whether in Arizona or Ohio. "Standard acrylics" dry very fast. Soft, even blending has always been a problem. Some additives such as a slo-dry gel can help. Are you aware of "open acrylics"? Golden paint, in particular has introduced a type of acrylic that blends easier and drys much slower. You might experiment with it. Check out the Golden website:
http://www.goldenpaints.com/products/color/index.php