How does it look

This post has 8 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 5
Points 145

I'm new to this. I know it's not perfect yet, but my hopes are for it to become close to it. So if there is any help to make this piece look better and more realistic.

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 20
cwstaceys wrote
on 1 Apr 2014 1:55 PM

I think it's great. But I what to question why are you seeking perfection? I am also fairly new to the art world, but I've already learned that there is no perfection in art, there is only what you like. If you are enjoying your drawings, having fun learning art, and like sharing your art with friends and family. That to me is good enough. I have learned a lot since I started painting about a year ago from Jerry Yarnell, I am a member of his online school. He talks a lot about learning the rules of "negative space", and I hear a lot of artists talking about it, maybe you might what to learn about that, to help you be a more realistic in your drawings. Just don't stop having fun in your seek of perfection in your art. Thanks, I hope I helped, even in a small way. 

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 5
Points 145
on 1 Apr 2014 5:16 PM

Thanks a lot! That was very inspirational and it made me think about my work again. My artwork and drawings mean a lot to me, they're the best part of me. My theory is to not be perfect but to be good enough to be noticed. I hope to continue art in the future. My dream is to become one of the best. The art I do now is what I want to look to realistic. I have been taught the rules of negative space and could try to incorporate it. So thank you so much, you helped a lot.

Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 370
Msblueeyes wrote
on 3 Apr 2014 5:08 PM

I really like how you drew the sweater, But I feel like the jacket on the other arm could use more depth, as in kind of darken the colors a bit, but I do honestly feel like this is a very good piece. Keep drawing!

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 12
Points 195