Would love some help

This post has 7 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 115
Leetsluvsrob wrote
on 18 Mar 2014 12:13 AM

Hi this is Leta , and I am brand new here.  I am a self taught painter, and have just begun using oils.  I have been painting from photographs that I like.  I have no idea what I am doing!  I would love some help with my work.  I really like to paint birds.  

• | Post Points: 50
Not Ranked
Posts 33
Points 995
ALatorre wrote
on 23 Mar 2014 10:53 PM

Awesome work! Bold choice in background color, but still works. The only thing I would suggest is that you should be aware of presentation, I am trying to figure out if there is a reflection of someone in a blue shirt in this photo of your piece, and is the drawer in the back of the painting, a real dresser... how you photograph your pieces is important if you are going to show your work electronically.

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 115
Leetsluvsrob wrote
on 24 Mar 2014 12:08 PM

ALatorre:

Awesome work! Bold choice in background color, but still works. The only thing I would suggest is that you should be aware of presentation, I am trying to figure out if there is a reflection of someone in a blue shirt in this photo of your piece, and is the drawer in the back of the painting, a real dresser... how you photograph your pieces is important if you are going to show your work electronically.

thank you so much for the feedback!!! I have only recently started oil painting, and your help means a lot!!!  The dresser in the background is my husband's humidor.  Next time I will crop my photo to size.  Thanks again!!!!!

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 12
Points 195
on 3 Apr 2014 8:06 PM