Give me your best advice!! I'm still learning!!!

This post has 6 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 370
Msblueeyes wrote
on 13 Mar 2014 11:59 AM

I posted a picture of a rose I drew on here a while back, and people gave me some great advice! I tried to channel all of that into this flower drawing, again, I'm only 13 and I'm self taught, I would like as much advice as possible. Thank you! <3 I really hope to be good at realism one day..

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 33
Points 995
ALatorre wrote
on 23 Mar 2014 10:58 PM

I like everything about this, the way the leaves bend and fold, the flower, all of it is nice...a kneaded eraser is always a good tool to have to keep some of the unnecessary smudges off as a final touch... keep on drawing 

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 370
Msblueeyes wrote
on 24 Mar 2014 10:33 AM

Thank you! Can a normal eraser work to? 

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 614
Points 5,330
on 24 Mar 2014 4:59 PM

Blueeyes—

I like your drawing very much. You show a real sensitivity to the lines and textures of the flower.

You are doing very well for someone 13 and in the process of teaching yourself.  I want to encourage you to draw every chance you have. You are at the age when the time and practice spent learning to draw can truly pay off.

This is the time you should learn the skills of drawing what you see. This means you should be drawing from something—objects from the world around you or fairly large photos from magazines. What you are learning is the coordination of your your hand, your mind and your eyes—the essence of what the skill of drawing is all about. In this sense, drawing is a very much a physical activity that can be improved with practice—just as an athlete improves with practice. This means that many of your drawings, at this stage, will be practice drawings and sketches—rather than finished works of art.