What medium should I mix with oil paint from the tube?

This post has 15 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 105
SKBreeding wrote
on 12 Feb 2014 10:54 PM

Hi, I am brand new to painting and quickly decided I preferred oil paints. However, I am very confused about what to medium to mix with the oil paints (artists quality Winsor & Newton) to make them more fluid and what to wet the canvas with for the alla prima technique. 

I watched a video by Igor Sakharov on YouTube and he wets the canvas with something that looks like water but in an English translation, he refers to it as solvent. He also mixes something with the paint on the pallet so it is nice and fluid as opposed to stiff the way it comes out of the tubes. Does anyone know what he uses or what I should be using? Here is a link to one of his videos which shows him wetting the canvas: http://youtu.be/3c5hbdMuiIc

Despite my ignorance, I plunged in. I bought Winsor & Newton artists quality paints, orderless turpenoid because I read turpentine is hazardous to your health and I paint in my breakfast area which doesn't have good venilation, cold pressed linseed oil because I read it didn't cause yellowing of whites, Liquin because an art student recommended it and Bob Ross' magic white and liquid clear because I wanted to use the alla prima/wet on wet technique. Later I plan to use the traditional fat over lean technique and try glazing.

Since I don't know what "solvent" Igor is using, I wet the canvas with a little of Bob Ross' magic white or liquid clear. Should I be using linseed oil or a mixture of linseed oil and turpenoid?