on 10 Feb 2014 4:58 PM

I'm new to oil painting and would like an honest review

• | Post Points: 65
Not Ranked
Posts 29
Points 240
nlichte wrote
on 12 Feb 2014 10:12 PM

Really like you colors along the ground and around the lake. The lake seems a little off, it may be the perspective or just the shape but something looks wrong. Overall great colors. 

• | Post Points: 35
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 1,115
Points 8,405
JenPadden wrote
on 12 Feb 2014 10:29 PM

Actually it's just a pond.   Thank you for your critique

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 20
Tebbe wrote
on 14 Feb 2014 9:23 PM

It is rather flat and one dimensional.  There is nothing of interest to keep my attention. The colors are bright and even.  The photo is very low res so any real determination is hard to get from this

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 1,115
Points 8,405
JenPadden wrote
on 14 Feb 2014 9:38 PM

I appreciate your critique but cannot understand why you would say my painting is 1-dimensional.    There's height, width & depth to the painting.  Yes I'm a beginner but I feel I have accomplished those 3 things at least.   I would say that 1-dimensional would be a perfect straight line or even a dot.   My painting is neither of those.   Thank you for your time anyway.  

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 1,115
Points 8,405
JenPadden wrote
on 14 Feb 2014 9:46 PM

I have thought about what you said in your critique.   To say that the water looks off or the persoective is off to me implies that you believe a pond or lake should look perfect & centered etc.   I thought I accomplished something that isn't perfect but just real.   Isn't that what Art is all about.   The Artist's own perspective, their reality?   Thank you again. 

Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 370
Msblueeyes wrote
on 15 Feb 2014 10:12 AM

Hey man, those people are just trying to help, don't bite their heads off or anything. Rude.

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 1,115
Points 8,405
JenPadden wrote
on 15 Feb 2014 10:25 AM