CHALLENGE #40 - February 2014

This post has 336 Replies | 16 Followers rated by 3 users
Not Ranked
Posts 36
Points 915
cllewi3 wrote
on 23 Feb 2014 1:37 PM

I did a quick study of the door knocker.  None too happy with it.  Too narrow and must not be a good paper for pencil; my hand kept smudging the lead around.  I may try again with watercolour pencils.

Carol L.

C&C Welcome (be kind, I'm still learning).  :^)

• | Post Points: 35
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 2,935
Points 49,215
Turps245 wrote
on 23 Feb 2014 2:35 PM

Thank you , Sarah, Marsha, Bonnie and Claudia.  Hmmmm not sure this has made me a better horse painter Claudia but just doing something I consider difficult helps me be more adventurous the next time!  It is all learning and I know doing these challenges has made me a ore observant artist. I used to avoid flowers like the plague and through doing feel much more comfortable doing them. Still more to do on the rose pushing and pulling lights and darks.

Claudia,  no worries about repeats it is bound to happen and the knockers are different so more good drawing practice! 

Carol, good for you having a go. These knockers are tricky and you can fix the width issue fairly easily with a kneaded eraser and redoing it.mYou just need to widen his face a bit.  I think you got all those curly bits really well. I make and get into a mess with just about every medium I use and the smudging is just one way of getting messy. If you put a piece of drawing paper or tracing  paper under your hand it will lesson the smudging. Or I just go in with the kneaded eraser and clean things up at the end! 

Jen C & C's always welcome

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 36
Points 915
cllewi3 wrote
on 23 Feb 2014 3:16 PM

Thanks Jen.  Great idea about the paper under my hand.  I'm a lefty, and am used to it happening with any wet materials but have not had it happened this much with pencil before.  I'm using multi-media paper.  Maybe it prefers wet media...

Carol