Need Advice On How To Work with my surface

This post has 2 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 15
Points 300
jrasche2003 wrote
on 16 Jan 2014 10:30 PM

Newbie here asking about my work surface and any suggestions you may have for me.  

I have a adjustable drafting table to work on.  I like being able to sit and rest my arms(my arms would not last 5 minutes with an easel).

I have a couple issues however, and I need your input.

1.  There is no lip, no storage with this table.  It's all it is, a table that I can tilt fairly much.  Of course, if I am working on a canvas, or canvas panel, it just wants to slide right off.  Does this mean I need a lip on it?  And if that is the case (I am guess it is), how do you deal with the canvas being butted up against the lip, which can be not far off of your lap?

2.  Since it is tilted, how do you guys deal with your water container, brushes and paints?  Do you have an additional little table sat next to you?

3.  do you use a clamp light on the table?  I have a florescent one that seems to put alot of glare on the painting.. 

I hope your not laughing too hard, but videos don't show these little details, and I am struggling to make this work for me.  The photo below is how I had it set up, but I find that I need it angled a little bit more, of which nothing wants to sit on it... 

I Need your help Thanks!

• | Post Points: 20
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 376
Points 5,805
on 17 Jan 2014 1:50 PM