liquin

This post has 27 Replies | 11 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 23
Points 235
peter_ahart wrote
on 26 Nov 2010 6:11 PM

Looks like a great source for information. Thanks!

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 35
Ownerofphil wrote
on 13 Nov 2011 10:04 PM

hi, i was looking to try liquin but wanted to read up on it and found my way to this place and when I read your post I couldn't help myself i signed up for this website in order to reply to you because i don't think you are right. I'm a college student majoring in painting and I have been told to paint from thin to thick not the other way around. why do you beleive that painting thin to think will cause the paint to crack? because of the medium? i've never used liquin so i do not know.

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 115
Daryl6 wrote
on 14 Nov 2011 5:57 PM

It was awhile back when I first posted this post. Looking into answers about using mediums and painting fat over lean. Meaning fat with oil verses lean of oil, not necessarily paint thickness.

Since then I have experimented with different mediums and found Liquin to be unsuitable or undesirable. It was nice to use a medium, but liquin made all my paint flatten out, and when I paint I enjoy dimension and impasto in my paint.

I am favoring walnut oil now. You may want to say I have gone green. Walnut oil is non toxic, it can be easily used to clean brushesand you will not need turpentine or gamsol anymore. It does not dry out brushes, though I mainly use painting knives. I am enjoying the walnut oil with the dryer, to speed drying time, and it does not yellow my paint colors.

Hope this helps.

I talk about this more in my workshops. See below.

Web: www.DarylUrig.com
Blog: http://darylurig.com/blog/

YouTube Video:
Self-Portrait: http://youtu.be/5DDJ0TwPGz0
Painting Knives: http://youtu.be/WZOwpcxitc8

Top 200 Contributor
Posts 220
Points 3,935
Jay Babina wrote
on 22 Nov 2011 8:32 AM