CHALLENGE # 39 JANUARY 2014

This post has 496 Replies | 16 Followers rated by 4 users
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 964
Points 14,035
B.J. Bailey wrote
on 13 Jan 2014 8:48 AM

Jan, good for you in trying the male pheasant. A difficult subject made more so with the combination of mediums. You did a great job with his eye and beak and portrayal of his feathers. The colourful detail on the feathers you captured very well. I'm so glad you did this one, good job.

Jen, I am not experienced enough to comment on your WIP. I'm still trying to figure out the difference of hard and soft pastels. But it is coming along very nicely and I can see why the photo captured your interest in painting the scene, it is lovely.

Bonnie   C & C most welcome / appreciated

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 2,906
Points 46,670
on 13 Jan 2014 11:59 AM

Bonnie, soft pastel is like chalk but it is pigment rather than chalk.  Jen is working with soft pastel.  People generally refer to soft pastel as just pastel.  Oil pastel is like lipstick.  It's oil paint along with other binders in crayon or stick form.  People generally refer to it as oil pastel.

Sam/Sammy     C & C Welcome

Visit my blog at www.artbysamh.blogspot.com

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Posts 7,326
Points 80,265
on 13 Jan 2014 3:50 PM

Hello dear friends,

Here I am again with 2 more paintings that I did over the week-end. So happy I've had  more time to spend  in my studio in the last days.

For the horse painting I've used a photo I've got it not too long time ago in a trip  when I've visited a horse farm and for the flower I've added a bit more imagination... anyway both of them have an abstract feeling...

Thank you so much to everyone for the wonderful comments and encouragements on my works! I appreciate every single word!

I love all of your works, so inspiring!

A lovely day to you all!

With best regards,

Cristina

Mysterious whispers...

IT"S A BEAUTIFUL DAY!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 2,858