Need Help With Blending

This post has 8 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 15
Points 300
jrasche2003 wrote
on 29 Dec 2013 12:48 PM

Hello!

I am new to painting.. I literally just started messing around last week.  I have been trying to perfect blending my backgrounds, and I am not sure if I am getting it or not.

I am using Artist Loft brand flat panel canvas (hard) bought from Michaels Craft store.

My first couple of paintings I did were strictly with level 1 Artist Loft brand acrylic paint in tubes.  As you can see in the photos below, with the Swing, and the Love Birds, the blending isn't subtle. (Looks like a 1st grader painting to me).  I only used water for blending.  I do notice on the 2nd one, that it appears the white of the canvas is showing through.  Did I dilute too much?

Ok so then on to the Third one I did.  Here the brush got to dry and I couldn't seem to recover it.  So I just left it and finished the painting with the tree.  Now I regressed to kindergarten I think. 

And last night.  I watched a few tutorials about blending and also how you can use craft paint and an extender to help the paint not dry as fast.  So I am using strictly craft pain on this with an extender(which I think I used too much because it was still a little wet this morning).  What I like is that it I think it seems like a better blend (tell me if I am wrong), however, there seems to be alot of the canvas peeking through.  (along with brush stroke stops...grr..)

Now as with all of these I have only used one coat.  With this last painting I am wondering if I have to do another layer on top of the existing?  I guess I am just unhappy that white canvas is popping through when it seems the tutorials I watch, the paint is really covering the canvas.  I then question if it's the canvas type, since I am using a flat panel, however, I am looking at photos of others and they are quite vivid.