suggest books

This post has 5 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
Breakingfree wrote
on 26 Dec 2013 5:53 AM

Hi there, I am a complete beginner in painting. I love landscapes and abstracts. I love the vibrancy and transparency of watercolors but I want to try acrylics and have bought myself a couple of canvases. I would really appreciate if anyone can suggest some excellent and detailed books on acrylic painting and techniques for beginners. 

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 483
Points 3,675
on 27 Dec 2013 3:41 PM

Breaking—

I suggest you take a look at the books on acrylics available at Amazon.com. Most of them are very reasonable. There are several that look good as starter books. One you might check out is " An introduction to Acrylics" by Ray Smith. Also, Artist Daily has a free book on acrylic techniques. Look on the home page under "Free Resources".

Paul

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
Breakingfree wrote
on 29 Dec 2013 5:29 PM

Thank you Paul for your suggestions. There are so many books on amazon it is kind of hard to decide which ones to select. In your opinion what should i pick if i have to choose between acrylic painting for dummies and the intro to acrylics that you mentioned. Also i did my first acrylic painting on canvas while i was painting tree leaves with the sponging technique using different shades of green available in the acrylic painting set all the greens kept on absorbing to form one unified dark green shade. while i was expecting different shades as i waited between layers to dry.i dont understand what could be the reason.the same thing happened with the browns.

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 483
Points 3,675
on 30 Dec 2013 1:08 PM

Breaking—