your thoughts on synthetic watercolor brushes

This post has 20 Replies | 11 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 5
Points 205
Kris Aaron wrote
on 20 May 2009 10:37 AM

As much as I'd love sable brushes, I don't wear fur so  ... which manufacturer makes the best synthetic watercolor brushes? Which ones and what sizes do you or would you use if you were limited to synthetic? What are the drawbacks to these brushes?

I'm new at watercolor, so the learning curve is immense. Your help is most appreciated!

-- Kris Aaron

Science flies you to the moon.

Religion flies you into buildings.

• | Post Points: 110
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 806
Points 16,615
Trusted Users
on 20 May 2009 1:11 PM

Kris, first let me say what the advantages are with Kolinksy sable brushes. I use a round size 6 for most of my watercolor painting.

Kolinsky sable brushes hold more water than synthetics do, but the real advantage is that these hairs release the water in a tiny stream.. a little at a time and give the user control over washes and glazes.

OK, for the synthetics: they tend to release water all at once - when the tip touches the paper, but manufacturers are aware of this problem and have been busy making brushes that mimic the holding and releasing power of Kolinsky.  Any good synthetic should come to a fine point and not flatten out when wet.

Synthetic brushes I like: Cheap Joes Art Supply makes some great synthestics that use new technology to mimic sable brushes. Their American Journey Interlocked Synthetic should work very well. I have used and like their Scepter Gold II Brushes but these have a combination of synthetic and sable.

Robert Simmons makes synthetics and Stephen Quiller has his own line.

Let me know if that was helpful and if you have any other questions.

www.loriwords.com

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 4
Points 50
on 5 Nov 2010 11:00 AM