Varnishing watercolors

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 15 Replies | 10 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
810 Posts
Points 16,815
Trusted Users
Lori Woodward posted on 19 May 2009 11:26 AM

Anyone else out there varnish their watercolor paintings?  I've been doing this for almost 10 years now, and I love the way acrylic varnish makes my paintings look - rich colors with no reflection.

Let me know how you varnish your watercolors or if you'd like to know how I do it.

www.loriwords.com

All Replies

Not Ranked
40 Posts
Points 875

Hi Lori,

I find your question interesting.  Why would you varnish watercolors?  I mean, I don't see anything wrong with that, but to me it seems unnecessary.  By doing so, it seems you are turning your watercolors into acrylics.  Why not use acrylics like watercolor?

Mark

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
810 Posts
Points 16,815
Trusted Users

Mark,

Good Question!

Nope, it's not necessary to varnish watercolors. It's my personal preference. One, because I like the way they look and enjoy the convenience of popping them into a frame without having to cut a mat or add glass.

I like the way they look because there are no reflections, and my collectors seem to like that aspect as well.

I do also paint in acrylic on paper. Sometimes I begin with transparent watercolor and then switch over to acrylics on the same painting. It doesn't matter to me whether the resulting artwork is called a watercolor or acrylic as I am not particularly inclined to follow rules. In fact, I'm sort of a rebel sometimes. Big Smile

What matters to me is the final result and not necessarily what medium got me there.

www.loriwords.com

Not Ranked
40 Posts
Points 875