Does my Job has potential?

This post has 4 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 35
MaluWorkArts wrote
on 17 Dec 2013 4:02 PM

Hello, I paint for a hobby but I've been pushed by my brother to make it a little more professional and why not make a living out of it. 

So I paint, and I paint a lot, I mostly do acrylic painting on newspaper that I consider my own style (I havent seen something familiar like what I do) 

So I'm here to take any review, advise and why not offer from this community. 

http://instagram.com/maluworkarts 

I do have a lot more of paintings done but I dont want to publish everything ono the same day. 

All Images are ©Copyrighted 

Thanks in advance, 

MALU

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 30
dougworrell wrote
on 4 Jan 2014 3:18 PM

Hello, I saw your paintings and they are lovely and interesting and evoke happiness.

I am a lawyer, and only a beginning artist, but I have been inquiring about how an artist can make money from their work and perhaps a living, because my girlfriend is an artist and an art teacher.  She often does not feel her artwork is good unless some will buy it.  Not true, of course, but still she has that yen for recognition confirmed by the fact that someone values her work enough to write a check.

There are millions of artists and thousands of gallons of paint and watercolor being applied to surfaces weekly.  Trailer truck loads of canvas are manufactured and shipped by the companies that sell such things.

Being good, even unique, is not sufficient for commercial success.

With any business an entrepreneur (and that is what you are or will be) must identify their target market and know what the buyer wants and why they will purchase your product as opposed to the next vender.

There are several approaches to consider; here are only a few examples.