Never too old to learn I hope

This post has 7 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 70
kaye24 wrote
on 18 May 2009 7:40 AM

Never had an art lesson since 3rd grade so I am new to this. Almost past being a senior citizen. I started out with a few drawing lessons and lots of books. It's a long, hard lonely road but I can see some progress in my work. I figured acrylic was the safest way to go. I've been looking at some of the paintings in here and there are lots of really nice ones. Maybe I will catch up along the way. Nice to meet all of you.

• | Post Points: 50
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 700
Points 10,815
Trusted Users
Robin11 wrote
on 18 May 2009 9:46 AM

Kaye, it's never too late!!  There's plenty of folks here to cheer you on and answer any questions you have, you don't have to reinvent the wheel!  My advice is whatever your medium, spend time every day just drawing from life.  Makes everything else easier and better, imo.

Welcome here, by the way!

• | Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 890
Points 17,260
Randy E wrote
on 18 May 2009 4:34 PM

Kaye,

You are going to be surprised how many of us are all late life painters. Remember Grandma Moses? She was just one of us. You should paint if your heart tells you to paint. We look forward to your participation. I'm 63 and started painting daily about 3 years ago. I love every minute, even when I hate the thing I just painted.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 700
Points 10,815
Trusted Users
Robin11 wrote
on 19 May 2009 4:21 AM

Agree, OP!  I find I'm much more focused now than when I was younger, have the time to give art a significant chunk of my day, and have developed a selfishness that makes me take the time, even when I shouldn't!

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 93
Points 1,325
phillip2 wrote
on 19 May 2009 10:11 AM