URGENT- Seeking Industry Insight from Arts Professionals

This post has 1 Reply | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 20
on 9 Nov 2013 8:44 PM

Hi all :) I have an assignment due TOMORROW and am in desperate need of help!

My name is Jess and I am currently studying for my Bachelor of Creative Industries (Media Design) at James Cook University, Cairns, Queensland, Australia. I am investigating the ‘commercial and management side’ of arts careers, and would appreciate any insights or information you could provide me.

1. How did you enter the world of art?

2. What are the key skills you consider most important in the running of your artistic career?

3. What would a typical day/week in your practice entail?

4. What other roles, besides artist, do you need to do in order to run your practice?

5. How do you market yourself and your work? Eg: portfolio websites, social media, gallery exhibitions etc.

I would also love for you to link me to any of these outlets and other examples of your work so I can further my research.

I would appreciate any other information and insight you could provide for me, so that I can prepare myself for entering the professional world. If you cannot answer these questions for any reason, perhaps you could forward them onto someone who can.

I really appreciate you taking the time to read this and help me out.

Kind regards and many thanks in advance,

Jessica Pledger

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 7
Points 50
wesley lowe wrote
on 15 Dec 2013 12:41 AM

Hello Jessica,  I have only just joined this site and I see your post was some time ago and probably won't help you on your assignment, but I will answer your query.

1.  I entered the field of art in 1972 as a junior in an art studio and I was then trained as a designer.  I worked in the graphic art field for 8 years before entering the field of illustration and I am still working at illustration for publishers etc.