Time-Lapse Landscape Painting - would love critique!

This post has 8 Replies | 6 Followers rated by 1 users
Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 105
on 18 Oct 2013 6:55 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Artist Daily - as an artist for over 20 years, I've worked in a variety of mediums, and just started to do my own YouTube channel. I am working on honing what works/what doesn't, and would love some feedback! Looking forward to being part of this community :)

Check out my video to critique here

You can see more of my work here (on my website) -also open to critique!

Thanks so much,

Jasmine

• | Post Points: 65
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 74
Points 935
kjw1980 wrote
on 22 Oct 2013 5:17 AM

I really like your color choices. Your abstracts are my favorite. A few of your Seascapes look expressionistic and abstract and to me are better than the others because they are not the every day mundane paintings you see. A few of the city scapes are awesome especially the one that looks like snow is falling. I can't give any real advice because I am just a beginner. Your paintings look really nice hanging on the wall. I don't know if this would help but it would look a little better if the paintings were centered with the couch for all the pictures,

Kris

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 20
Points 400
jayarkay wrote
on 18 Dec 2013 12:03 PM

I'd like to know more about this painting Jasmine. I assume from your video that you were using acrylics but it could have been premixed oil.
Background would also help, did you start with any sources, such as photographs for instance?
Did you do any preliminary sketches or tone studies beforehand or did you work straight from your imagination?
The colours are very effective indeed, the harmony is very good and the tree shapes are convincing.
The composition is central and I'm afraid that the great emphasis shown by the strong movement towards the horizon leads disappointingly to an empty space.