SOS! Can this painting be saved?

This post has 11 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 10
Points 230
cdriskell wrote
on 12 Sep 2012 7:51 AM

I am new to painting and am very new to oil, so I am BEGGING for advice on this painting. I changed my mind on my drawing mid-way and when I tried to paint the grass, the lines showed through my sap green and ultra marine blue mix (apparently both are transparent). So I used burnt sienna or something. To try to justify all the red in my grass, I added color to the sky.  At any rate, now I have mud! So .....What needs to be done to the whole painting to make it work? or is it even redeemable?

• | Post Points: 65
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 438
Points 3,930
jatravis wrote
on 24 Sep 2012 4:46 PM

I am also new to painting & have done the same thing!  Hope someone answers you - However, I really like the painting - the sky is wonderful, the color of the buildings, etc.....actually the "mud" kind of works - it frames the focal point & 'feels' like those areas are in shadow. 

Judy   C&C appreciated

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 10
Points 230
cdriskell wrote
on 25 Sep 2012 1:57 PM