Texture Issues

This post has 6 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
Points 120
123456qwert wrote
on 7 Sep 2012 12:11 PM

I've been drawing from life for a couple of months and I've seen a drastic improvement. However, I have one problem. I am horrible at texturing my still lifes. I spend hours making decent looking drawings but when it comes down to texturing my art work starts looking bad. Please tell me about some techniques that will help me improve as a fine artist.

• | Post Points: 65
Not Ranked
Posts 24
Points 255
on 7 Sep 2012 3:03 PM

Shalom

It might depend on what medium you use, I use Acrylic but the same goes for oil, texturing when needed, I do with small pallet knife (or old credit card) on wet paint, adding bit by bit the color I want and softening the shadows as a second layering, there are some good advises in You Tube, just look for it.

Good luck and joy in your painting

s. steiner

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 24
Points 255
on 7 Sep 2012 3:03 PM

Shalom

It might depend on what medium you use, I use Acrylic but the same goes for oil, texturing when needed, I do with small pallet knife (or old credit card) on wet paint, adding bit by bit the color I want and softening the shadows as a second layering, there are some good advises in You Tube, just look for it.

Good luck and joy in your painting

s. steiner

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 4
Points 120
123456qwert wrote
on 7 Sep 2012 4:43 PM

I wanted tips for drawing not painting.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 585
Points 7,115
KatPaints wrote
on 7 Sep 2012 6:20 PM

Hi, Maybe you could post an example. It is difficult to play psychic. Generally textures fail in a drawing when the artist overlooks the natural state of things. Textures follow the same rules of perspective, values, scale, etc.

If the texture is too active, it distracts from the overall artwork.

Be certain that your overall texture is the correct value.