What is the proper color mix to paint portraits of black persons?

This post has 4 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 5
Points 55
QuansetAD67 wrote
on 22 Aug 2012 5:19 PM

I want to paint a portrait of a Nigerian friend of mine and have to work from a photo. His skin tone is very dark indeed. Oddly, the highlights on his face in the photo appear blue. Can someone please recommend the best color mix to accurately create very dark skin tones? F.Y.I. I am a seasoned artist, but rarely paint portraits, and virtually all of my previous portrait subjects have been caucasian.

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 376
Points 5,805
on 23 Aug 2012 4:00 PM

I came across a young, gorgeous looking woman in Calgary who had that very dark, almost black skin, and the highlights on her face in a lighted room were blue, I would loved to have painted her, but our move across Canada put an end to that thought.  If I were to mix colours, I would be tempted to mix Burnt Umber and Dioxazine Purple together for the dark colour.  I would try Raw Umber as a lightening colour.  Perhaps Chromium Oxide Green or a yellow green would work on the receding planes, I might try to dry brush Colbalt Blue as a highlight abutting the dark.  I would definitely use the purple in whatever brown colour I used.  You could try Burnt Sienna and purple.  You could try the yellow ochre, light cadmium red, burnt umber and throw in some purple.  I can't see a white working without greying the dark.  Maybe a buff titanium.

I went and got Chris Saper's book, "Painting Beautiful Skin Tones With Colour and Light", page 125 for black/African American skin tone samples.  Shows his base colour with Cadmium Scarlet and Ultramarine Blue;

for the cool light:   add to the base Alizarin Crimson, Phthalo Green, Ultramarine Blue and Titanium White (below that example as a cool light he has added titanium white).