Brick and Block Buildings....Any Tips?

This post has 6 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 325
Kramer_Krazy wrote
on 22 Jul 2012 9:36 PM

I just started painting a few weeks ago and decided to start with acrylics. I'm in the middle of doing a castle and will need to try to get the block-look on the walls of the castle and the one retaining wall. Anyone have any advise on how to do the block and make it look halfway decent. I'm laying down the base shades as a solid color now, but will soon be going back and trying to add the block work. So, any tips, pointers, or tricks? Thanks.

- Terry

If anyone is interested, this is how it looked last night, but I'm a bit further along with it today...

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 325
Kramer_Krazy wrote
on 31 Dec 2012 9:21 PM

The castle has been sitting in the corner of the room and hasn't gotten much further along than it was in the above picture. I am in the middle of an old grist mill and think I stumbled across a way to make the block/brickwork look halfway decent. If I am happy with the end product of this mill, I may go back to the castle...

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 136
Points 2,775
peebee44 wrote
on 7 Jan 2013 7:49 PM

Hi Kramer, the best advice I can give you is put a little more colour variation in the bricks and you don't have to paint each stone etc. just represent them. The boulders are very good, now the same approach to the bricks. Here is an idea of what I mean...

Hope this helps.

Paul

www.acrylic-artist.com

www.paulbennettfineart.com

Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 325
Kramer_Krazy wrote
on 7 Jan 2013 9:44 PM

Thanks for the pointer, Paul.