Trying to loosen up

This post has 13 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 19
Points 290
TJS1358 wrote
on 25 Jun 2012 12:34 PM

I just started painting a few years back after a 20+ years of absence from fine art. My study was sculpture so painting is new to me.  I started with realism but would love to loosen up without compromising the image.  Here are my latest two paintings in oil

Question:  After looking at these does anyone know of an artist that I could look towards for refining a style or at least achieving one? Smile

I think I have the technical aspects down that I'm comfortable working with now it's style.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks.

• | Post Points: 50
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 585
Points 7,075
KatPaints wrote
on 25 Jun 2012 10:23 PM

These are wonderful paintings. I absolutely love them. They are very sensitively painted and have a feeling of charm, enchantment, romance (stylistically), and nostalgia. They also coordinate because of the use of the plum color and use of the petal shape in both images (the sleeves) on the girl. You clearly have shown that you technically understand the medium and have an understanding of light, color, form, etc. You have proven this by mastering these technical skills in a short length of time. I can see your wanting to loosen up a bit especially in the hair and areas of the girl's face.

Although you feel that you need to work on style by loosening up (as referred by your title,) you actually have a style at this point in time. Yet, I understand your wanting to "loosen up" because this is a goal of my own. I also did not paint for 20+ years and have found that my skills have somewhat reverted because of the experimenting, but I'm sure I will eventually find a balance.