plein aire umbrellas

This post has 11 Replies | 6 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 100
jimpsieayres wrote
on 24 May 2011 8:17 AM

Sooo, does anyone have any suggestions about umbrellas?  I had a collapsible umbrella that broke almost immediately!  I am attending a workshop in June and really think I should get one before then.  I would love some advice on this subject, as I am a novice at plein aire!

Not Ranked
Posts 5
Points 105
Verna K wrote
on 26 May 2011 1:54 PM

Interesting question.  I had book marked http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avc4jzOcOlw with the intent of purchasing this umbrella at some point  But then, I took a fab workshop from Matt Smith in Tucson, Arizona in Februdary 2011.  Matt cautioned against the use of an umbrella, saying that in his opinion, they are more trouble than they are worth - they blow over, etc.  And the students who had umbrellas in our pleing air sessions, did indeed struggle with their brellies.  So I just saved myself a hundred bucks.  Good luck with your decision.  Verna :-)

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 585
Points 7,115
KatPaints wrote
on 26 May 2011 5:55 PM