Finishing chalk pastel pieces

This post has 10 Replies | 7 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 65
agthaggl wrote
on 10 May 2011 3:40 PM

I've been working a lot with chalk pastels recently. I've been using a little fixative between layers, but I've found that using a final coat of fixative changes my colors and dulls my pieces. Perhaps it's the fixative that I'm using (I do not know the name)... Does anyone have any recommendations of good fixatives or a way to store pastel pieces that would prevent smudging? Or is there something else that I should be putting on as a final?

• | Post Points: 65
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 152
Points 1,845
on 10 May 2011 8:24 PM

I personally don't use any fixative at all on my pastel pieces and if I am not framing them right away I store them between sheets of newsprint....

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 30
Points 480
DianeC14 wrote
on 21 May 2011 1:01 PM

I've been using pastels for quite a few years now and the only thing I find fixatives good for is when a mistake is made, and the paper is in danger of being overworked, I take off as much pastel as I can and use fixative on the paper so that pastel will be able to adhere to it.

some people might tell you different but as far as I'm concerned, fixative only darkens the work to a degree, besides if you are planning on having it framed, a good framer will put a spacer between the work and the mat (hidden inside mat is a good spacer) so a fixative won't be needed.  I have bought a good portfolio and have slid my pastel work that i'm not having framed any time soon into the plastic sleeves, I just made sure I have a good sized portfolio to handle the larger paintings.

Diane

Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 115
Ed Dyer wrote
on 13 Oct 2011 3:16 PM

Agthaggl: