Finishing coatings for acrylics

This post has 16 Replies | 5 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 61
Points 1,305
Rick Schimpf wrote
on 13 Feb 2011 12:59 PM

I've read differing opinions about applying varnish or other material to paintings. Is it a good idea to coat an acrylic painting or leave it alone? If it should be coated, what is recommended?

Thanks

Rick

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 61
Points 1,305
Rick Schimpf wrote
on 8 Mar 2011 1:35 PM

Since asking about this issue here at ArtistDaily, I’ve obtained some information that I thought I’d share. Those that have had training may already know what I’ve learned about this but those of us that are self-taught and still learning may not have stumbled across this information. So here’s what I’ve learned. Hopefully, m y sharing will aid someone else.

Acrylic paintings are very durable and acrylic paint can withstand some abusive treatment but covering them is the best practice.  If the painting is to be framed in glass, you may be able to get away without placing a finish coating on it but it would still be better to coat it before framing.

The reason for coating paintings is to protect them from various environmental conditions. Even the cleanest of homes or galleries can still expose artwork to dust and deposits from heating systems. Additionally, placing a finishing coating over your painting enhances the colors and detail in them.

Varnish is the tried and true coating for artwork. I thought about more modern material such as polyurethane but from what I’ve read, polyurethane may cause shrinkage to your painting as well as crack and peel after a period of time.