Know how to achieve this effect?

This post has 11 Replies | 6 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 265
pairofjacks wrote
on 12 Jan 2011 4:18 PM

I've been painting for nearly 30 years and always experiment with different medias to come up with unique looks.  I've recently seen an effect that I love but cannot figure out how to achieve this effect.  I know that acrylics are used on canvas but that's about all I can figure out.  I've tried diluting, adding different fluid mediums, using a wet canvas, tried alcohol and numerous other methods.  I may not be using the right mixture or combination though.  If anyone knows how to achieve this look, please share the details.

• | Post Points: 65
Not Ranked
Posts 33
Points 595
Annie Strack wrote
on 15 Jan 2011 2:53 PM

Hard to tell from photsgraphs, but the painting on the top resembles the effects you can get when using watercolor paints on Yupo paper.

The triptych panels on the bottom have a more of a fresco appearance to them, with layers of paint added over layers of plaster or other dimensional substance that has been applied in a stucco-like manner to give it texture.

what ever it is, it sure is lovely!

http://AnnieStrackArt.com

• | Post Points: 5
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 74
Points 1,095
newcraft wrote
on 11 Feb 2011 7:37 PM

Hi,  I have not been painting nearly as long as you.  Do you mean the light effect on the top picture in yellow.?  I have seen that effect in many abstracts and would also love to know how it is achieved.  If you know how to get that can you please inform.

Thanks much for your help

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 585
Points 7,115
KatPaints wrote
on 12 Feb 2011 7:52 AM