How to do Abstract art?

This post has 12 Replies | 9 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 29
Points 375
Pheenix wrote
on 11 Jan 2011 6:47 AM

I am a newbie to acylics. I am trying to stretch my skills and develop a better eye. I decided to try my hand at something more abstract. (see attached picture)  How do you decide what to paint when doing an abstract? How do you pic your colors and do you sketch it before you paint it?

Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 265
pairofjacks wrote
on 12 Jan 2011 3:48 PM

Pheenix:

That's the beauty of abstract painting.  There's really no right way or wrong way of doing things.  Abstract is just that.....abstract.  When it comes to

abstract painting I think most people have a vision, or an idea of what they want their painting to look like when they start painting.  Some people might

sketch it out, or do some experimenting prior to painting on the canvas.  The photo of the painting you posted can be described as abstract or geometric.

A lot of times abstract paintings don't really have any defined style, shape or purpose to them, other than being abstract.  I love abstract painting because

there is no right way and wrong way of painting and I always envision every abstract painting as an experiment with colors and other media.  If you want to

see a wide variety of abstract paintings just type in 'abstract paintings' in Yahoo image search or on Ebay. 

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 29
Points 375
Pheenix wrote
on 12 Jan 2011 6:17 PM

I appreciate the feedback. I had no idea what to call my painting... I think geometric is the best description.  I have seen some amazing art that I would describe as abstract. I have also seen some works that dont look like art to me. I understand the wonderful thing about art is that its in the eye of the beholder, but  how do you know you are on the right path?

Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 265
pairofjacks wrote
on 12 Jan 2011 7:11 PM