Newbie w/questions

This post has 6 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
greyjohn wrote
on 1 Nov 2010 1:27 PM

Yep, I'm one of those. Indifferent And while I am also new to pastels, I am having a ball painting w/'em! I do have a couple of questions tho:

What is the drying time for oil pastels? And, what is a good way to varnish them?

Also, has anyone here painted on, or knows of anyone who has painted on, blackboard slate or beat up old cotton towels?

I've had, interesting, results w/both. However... I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. Any suggestions or comments will go a long way... Smile Back again this evening.

See ya!

• | Post Points: 35
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 83
Points 1,265
Tom Perry wrote
on 13 Nov 2010 12:27 AM

Greyjohn,

I thought I left a comment earlier for you.  But I guess the internet gremlins ate it.

Oil pastel will never completely dry.  It will set up and feel dry to the touch, usually over night.  Different brands of oil pastels have different "drying" times.  Of the artist grade pastels Sennelier seems to dry the slowest.

Oil pastels are not normally varnished for protection.  Instead they are displayed under glass in a frame.  There are products out there that are sprayed on for protection and Sennelier also make one for their product but in my opinion it hasn't been around long enough for me to trust it.

I've sketched on rocks, glass, cardboard etc. and have found very few thing that the OP won't stick to.  I've experimented using them on cloth but not on anything that will be handled.

Tom

See my gallery and blog here:

http://community.how-to-draw-and-paint.com/profile/TomPerry

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
greyjohn wrote
on 19 Nov 2010 6:13 PM

Tom, thanks for the info. I came over here just now thinking that if there still weren't any replies

to my original post, that I'd just try to delete it. Guess I need to work on my patience, huh?!!Cool