Ballpoint Pen Art

This post has 48 Replies | 5 Followers rated by 1 users
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 1,110
Points 8,445
Jerry Stith wrote
on 6 Feb 2010 11:39 PM

Hello fellow artists, my name is Jerry Stith and I’m the founder of an American folk program called Ball Point Pen Art. I’ve been doing art for about fifty-five years and ballpoint pen drawings from 1968. This particular multi colored ballpoint pen drawing was completed with oil based inks only delivered via a ballpoint pen. 

In the old days I used pencils for around five years because drawing was of interest. I liked to erase as a beginner yet realized too much time went in to making changes in spite of a satisfying result. My ballpoint pen could produce a line much like a pencil yet it delivered an ink line. I enjoyed the bold line, dark rich colors, a half tone plus a very long flowing line therefore changing over to a new medium took place within my life.

A ballpoint pen can produce half tone lines from a full tone ink which is absolutely delightful to me as an artist. A ballpoint pen today has an ultra-fine and fine tips for our usage if extraordinary details are important to you as an artist. They also produced the subtlest camera ready graphic or ink lines in history. That’s especially important because it elevates the art world’s sensitivity level or takes us to a brand new point in history.

This particular drawing has many colors such as gold and brown that most artists or people don’t even realize exit. Blending many colored half tone lines works very well in my opinion as seen in this portrait of Mother Teresa. I dedicated this drawing to Mother Teresa because she is a “Sister of Mercy” that dedicated most of her life to helping the untouchables of India. Today, the world is a better place because of her love and desire to help others.